Add Snippet
Steve Ness Sportsmanship Award

Presented in memory of a previous Ashford Whales Swimmer and Coach, Steve Ness. The Steve Ness Sportsmanship Award is given each season to both a male and female swimmer that represents the qualities Steve Ness exhibited. Steve began his tenure with the Whales at the age of five and was joined by his sister, Julie, one year later. His parents were involved with the league serving as the League and Team President as well as Team Representative. For the Ness Family, it was truly a family affair. Steve continued to swim every summer without fail and at the age of 18 was named the Head Coach of the Ashford Whales. Steve coached for the next five years before losing his two year battle with leukemia at the young age of 23. Steve was respectful, reliable, and an incredibly balanced individual. He was truly an amazing coach and person. Steve was loved and respected by everyone who knew him. After Steve's passing the natatorium at his alma matter, Elsik High School, was renamed in his honor. Years later, Steve is still fondly remembered by the Whales.

Steve Ness Sportsmanship Award Recipients

2018 Michael Hanus Marley Kiser & Reagan Fisk
2017 Tommy Dockins Sara Salazar
2016 Max Kiser Sarah Grace Fikes
2015 Michael Fisk Kendall Hoffman
2014 Jack Pidgeon Susan Meshejian-Diaz
2013 Blake Baker Emily Pidgeon
2012 Jakub Wheeler Emma Stange
2011 Arvin Farangi Rachel Robinson
2010 Patrick Loudermilk Taylor Jackson
2009 Chase Miller Francesca Rusca
2008 Anthony Ashley Courtney Jackson
2007 Eric Lofgren Amanda Robinson
2006 Reid Johnston Mallory Hansen
2005 Brandon Malekie Lindsey Kava
2004 Daniel Mengden Cory Pelfrey
2003 Antoine Marc Katie Norman
2002 Ryan Pelfrey Sara Guttilla
2001 Mango Sako Christina Valencia
2000 Thomas Pearson Caitlyn Witte
1999 Clint Burnham Laura Ybanez
1998 Lenchi Garcia-Reyes Charlyn Ursell
1997 John Denton Lindsay Kimmons

Coach or Staff photo and profile
Delete Edit_snippet
Add Snippet